The history of vitrosearch

vitrosearch is a scientific database created as a joint initiative of the Vitrocentre and the Vitromusée Romont.

The Vitrocentre Romont is dedicated to research in stained glass, reverse glass painting and glass objects. Many book publications have resulted from this research, much of which has been conducted in association with the Corpus Vitrearum. This international research organization has played a pioneering role in the creation of inventories and the systematic publication of works and sources related to glass art. The Vitrocentre Romont was therefore quick to apply the Corpus Vitrearum’s research approach to its own projects and has subsequently developed a large number of databases (created with FileMaker) that are used for internal purposes.

For its part, the Vitromusée Romont aims, on the one hand, to preserve historical and contemporary glass art by collecting works that exemplify the history and diversity of this art form, and on the other, to draw attention to its importance through exhibitions.

The idea behind vitrosearch was to make documentation from the Vitrocentre and the Vitromusée Romont widely accessible by putting it online, thereby reflecting the mandates of these complementary institutions.

The idea became more concrete in 2013, as implementation of the database began to be planned in detail.

The project is also important from the point of view of the preservation of glass as a cultural asset, in that it aims to systematically digitize graphic works (maquettes and preparatory drawings) that are kept in the archives. This ensures not only that these graphic works can be shown to their best advantage, but that they are preserved in the long term and protected from over-handling.

The first objects that became accessible online at the end of 2017 reflect the richness and diversity of glass art. New collections and individual works will be added to the database on an ongoing basis.

Aims

The main aim of vitrosearch is the promotion of Swiss glass art. The platform serves as a tool for publishing research and for showcasing objects.

This aim is realized by providing access to a web-based database. vitrosearch is an open-access database structured in a way that facilitates continual modification and updating. The platform serves as an ideal vehicle for presenting works that have been the subject of scientific research by the Vitrocentre as well as new collections acquired by the Vitromusée.

One advantage of vitrosearch is that it allows connections to be made between individual entries, not only between the works themselves (for example linking a work in a church to its counterpart in a museum, or a glass object to graphic works or preparatory drawings), but also between a work and the place it is stored, or the artist or workshop that produced it.

Content

Objects are continuously entered into the vitrosearch database on the basis of priorities and ongoing Vitrocentre and Vitromusée projects. Several inventory strategies are being pursued in parallel, such as the topographical inventorying of stained glass and glass objects in a particular canton or region, which is carried out in collaboration with cantonal institutions (for example museums) and according to precise mandates. At the same time, objects from the Vitromusée’s collections are described systematically and the details entered into the database.

The long-term aim is to include in the database glass art works that can be deemed works of Swiss cultural heritage, or that are connected to Switzerland, and thereby to provide a resource for the research community. This comprehensive approach means that vitrosearch will span an extensive chronological period (from the Middle Ages to the present day) and will incorporate a wide variety of object types. The database includes stained glass, dalles de verre, reverse glass painting and glass objects – as well as graphic works and preparatory drawings from workshops or individual artists. The database will eventually also incorporate entries on glass-making tools.

Further development of the project

The vitrosearch project is not concluded upon activation of the online platform, but will develop continuously: on the one hand with the ongoing addition of new digitized collections, and on the other, with the integration of new functionality and standards aimed at improving search performance and the visualization of research data.

Scientific partners and financial support

The vitrosearch platform is an internal project of the Swiss Centre of Glass Art (Vitrocentre and Vitromusée Romont). Various partners have provided advice and assistance during the implementation of the project:

For questions regarding the concept and content of vitrosearch, please contact: info@vitrosearch.ch

The database was created with generous financial support from the following public institutions and private foundations:

Institutions that supported specific projects are listed on the project description page.

We rely on additional funding for maintaining vitrosearch and for further development of the project. Any financial support or donations are highly appreciated. Please contact us if you would like to support vitrosearch or wish to inquire about funding a particular project (info@vitrosearch.ch).

The project could not have been accomplished without reproduction rights being granted by those holding the copyright for works included in the database, for which we would like to take this opportunity to offer our heartfelt thanks.

Rights and citation guidelines

Copyright of images

The images in vitrosearch are protected by copyright. The Vitrocentre and the Vitromusée make every effort to locate and obtain reproduction rights from the corresponding copyright holders. We wish to thank all the artists and copyright holders who have granted reproduction rights for images. Despite our endeavours, it is not always possible to contact those holding the copyright for specific images. In such cases, we are grateful if the individuals concerned contact us in order to clarify the legal situation.

vitrosearch users may not use images from the database without prior permission. Each database entry includes an order form that can be used to apply for permission to use the image(s) associated with that entry. For images that are protected by copyright, additional authorization must be obtained from the copyright holder. The Vitrocentre and the Vitromusée are in no way responsible for the use of images by third parties.

Citation guidelines

The object entries are subject to copyright protection. The use of data for private or academic purposes is governed by conventions of academic probity. The entries may be cited in the same manner as articles. The publication (online or offline) of unmodified entries from vitrosearch and any commercial use of such entries requires the express permission of the Vitrocentre or the Vitromusée Romont. Please contact us in advance should you wish to copy text from vitrosearch for anything other than personal use (info@vitrosearch.ch).

Links to vitrosearch or to specific database entries are permitted and encouraged.

Entries should be cited as follows:

Author(s) of the entries (year of publication or date when last updated). Title of the entry (title of work, name of artist, name of workshop, name of building). In vitrosearch. Accessible at: URL of vitrosearch entry

Example:

Sauterel, V. (2008). Vision de Constantin. In vitrosearch. Accessible at: http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/objects/2209132

Noverraz, C. (2015). Pillard-Verneuil, Maurice. In vitrosearch. Accessible at: http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/artists/2259453

Hasler, R., Keller, S. und Bergmann, U. (2016). Wappenscheibe Johann (Hans) Anton II. Tillier. In vitrosearch. Accessible at: http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/objects/2246241

Version 0.9.8.1

Historique de Vitrosearch

vitrosearch est une base de données de recherche issue d’une initiative commune entre le Vitrocentre et le Vitromusée Romont, qui forment ensemble le pôle suisse pour les arts du verre.

Le Vitrocentre Romont publie depuis toujours ses recherches effectuées dans les domaines du vitrail, de la peinture sous verre et du verre. De nombreuses publications sous forme de livre sont le résultat de ces études, notamment réalisées dans le cadre du Corpus Vitrearum. Cette organisation de recherche internationale a joué un rôle précurseur dans l’inventorisation et la publication systématique d’œuvres et de sources concernant l’art du vitrail. Le Vitrocentre Romont a donc rapidement adopté des approches similaires dont résulte un grand nombre de bases de données réalisées à l’aide de FileMaker, jusqu’alors uniquement disponibles à l’interne.

Le Vitromusée Romont a quant à lui pour objectif de rassembler les objets, anciens ou contemporains, qui témoignent de l’histoire de l’art verrier, de les conserver et de les mettre en valeur au moyen d’expositions.

L’idée sous-jacente de vitrosearch était donc de mettre librement à disposition d’un public plus large, sous forme d’une base de données en ligne, la documentation générée par les activités de ces deux institutions complémentaires, reflétant les missions de chacune.

C’est en 2013 que cette idée est devenue plus concrète et que le projet a effectivement été planifié plus en détail. Il s’inscrit dans un contexte global de préservation du patrimoine verrier suisse, qui consiste notamment à numériser les fonds d’œuvres graphiques (travaux préparatoires) conservés dans les dépôts, en vue de les valoriser grâce à la base de données et de les préserver sur le long terme en évitant leur manipulation.

Les premiers objets sont disponibles en ligne depuis fin 2017 et représentent déjà la richesse et la variété des créations issues de l’art verrier. De nouvelles collections et œuvres viendront régulièrement s’ajouter à celles déjà présentées.

Objectifs

L’objectif de vitrosearch est la promotion de l’art verrier suisse. Il s’agit à la fois d’un outil de publication, d’une base de données scientifique et d’une vitrine de présentation.

La publication sous forme de base de données web s’est imposée pour poursuivre ce but, car vitrosearch est non seulement un outil ouvert, c’est-à-dire consultable par chacun en ligne de manière libre, mais également suffisamment souple pour pouvoir y effectuer des modifications de manière continue et ainsi présenter les œuvres étudiées dans le cadre des recherches effectuées par le Vitrocentre ou les nouvelles collections acquises par le Vitromusée.

vitrosearch offre notamment l’avantage de pouvoir créer des liens entre les différentes entrées, non seulement entre les œuvres elles-mêmes (par exemple par la mise en relation d’une œuvre dans une église avec son pendant dans un musée, d’un objet en verre avec les œuvres graphiques ou travaux préparatoires qui ont été réalisés pour la conception de cette œuvre, etc.), mais aussi entre des œuvres et un bâtiment, un artiste ou un atelier.

Contenu

La mise en ligne des objets est prévue de manière continue, suivant les priorités et les projets menés par le Vitrocentre et le Vitromusée. Plusieurs stratégies d’inventorisation sont suivies en parallèle. On peut citer le recensement topographique des vitraux et objets verriers sur un canton ou une région, en collaboration avec des institutions cantonales (par exemple des musées), et en fonction de mandats précis. En parallèle, les collections conservées au Vitromusée font également l’objet d’une description systématique.

Ainsi, le but à terme est de couvrir le patrimoine verrier en Suisse ou en relation avec la Suisse de manière aussi large et représentative que possible et de proposer ainsi des sources d’études pour la communauté des chercheuses et des chercheurs. Grâce à cette approche large, vitrosearch offre une grande diversité quant à son contenu, que ce soit au niveau de la période couverte (du Moyen Âge aux créations contemporaines) ou au niveau des types d’objets. La base de données rassemble des œuvres aussi variées que des vitraux, des dalles de verre, de la peinture sous verre, des objets en verre et des œuvres graphiques ou travaux préparatoires provenant d’ateliers ou d’artistes. Par la suite, vitrosearch présentera également des outils destinés au travail du verre.

Développement du projet

vitrosearch n’est pas un projet clos, mais une base de données qui sera amenée à évoluer : d’une part par l’ajout régulier et constant de nouvelles collections numérisées, d’autre part par l’intégration de nouvelles fonctionnalités et de standards pour améliorer les possibilités de recherche et augmenter la visibilité des données de recherches.

Partenaires scientifiques et soutiens financiers

La plateforme vitrosearch est un projet du Vitrocentre Romont. Différents partenaires nous ont conseillés et ont travaillé à la mise en œuvre de vitrosearch :

Pour toutes les questions relatives à la conception et au contenu de vitrosearch, veuillez contacter info@vitrosearch.ch.

La base de données a pu voir le jour grâce au soutien financier d’institutions publiques ou privées et de fondations :

Les institutions qui ont contribuées au soutien de projets spécifiques sont mentionnées dans les pages de description des projets.

Pour le développement de vitrosearch et la poursuite du travail, nous acceptons volontiers de nouveaux soutiens financiers et dons. Il est également possible de prendre contact avec nous (info@vitrosearch.ch) pour le financement d’un projet spécifique en lien avec la mise en ligne.

La base de données n’aurait pas pu voir le jour sans les autorisations de reproduction de la part des ayants droit sur les œuvres des artistes. Qu’ils soient ici chaleureusement remerciés.

Droits et citations

Copyright pour les images et les textes

Les images présentées dans vitrosearch sont protégées par le droit d’auteur. Le Vitrocentre et le Vitromusée Romont se sont efforcés de trouver les ayants droit et d’obtenir les autorisations de reproduction. Nous remercions tous les artistes et ayants droit de nous avoir transmis leur accord. Malgré tous les efforts fournis, il n’a parfois pas été possible de contacter les ayants droit pour certaines images. Nous invitons dans ce cas les personnes concernées à prendre contact avec nous, afin de clarifier la situation.

Les utilisatrices et les utilisateurs de vitrosearch ne sont pas autorisés à réutiliser les images présentées sur vitrosearch sans autorisation préalable. Un formulaire pour la commande des images est disponible à partir de chaque notice. Pour les images encore protégées par le droit d’auteur, il est nécessaire de faire une demande supplémentaire auprès des ayants droit. Le Vitrocentre et le Vitromusée Romont ne sont en aucun cas responsable de l’utilisation future faite par autrui.

Citation des notices

Les notices des objets sont protégées par le droit d’auteur. L’usage personnel ou dans un but scientifique de tous les contenus publiés est soumis aux règles sur la manière de citer les articles. La publication (en ligne ou hors ligne) de notices non modifiées de vitrosearch ainsi que toute utilisation commerciale doivent être expressément autorisées par le Vitrocentre et ou le Vitromusée Romont. Pour toute réutilisation de textes de vitrosearch au-delà d’un usage personnel, il est nécessaire de prendre au préalable contact avec nous (info@vitrosearch.ch).

Les liens renvoyant à vitrosearch ou à des notices particulières de la base de données sont autorisées, même souhaités.

Les notices sont à citer de la manière suivante :

Auteur(s) de la notice (Année de publication ou de dernière mise à jour). Titre de la notice (Titre de l’œuvre, Nom de l’artiste, Nom de l’atelier, Nom du bâtiment). Dans vitrosearch. Repéré à URL de la notice

Exemples :

Sauterel, V. (2008). Vision de Constantin. Dans vitrosearch. Repéré à http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/objects/2209132

Noverraz, C. (2015). Pillard-Verneuil, Maurice. Dans vitrosearch. Repéré à http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/artists/2259453

Hasler, R., Keller, S. et Bergmann, U. (2016). Wappenscheibe Johann (Hans) Anton II. Tillier. Dans vitrosearch. Repéré à http://vitrosearch.ch/fr/objects/2246241

Version 0.9.7